THE EASY WAY: All the Forum's best tips go in MoneySavingExpert's weekly E-mail Plus you'll get all the new guides, deals and loopholes. It's free & spam free
IMPORTANT! This forum isn't moderated. If you spot a spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post or PM please email abuse@moneysavingexpert.com
Remember, this is an open forum! Anyone can post so always exercise caution when acting on info. Don't post links for personal gain. Except in the referrers section and always declare any interest.
Has anyone had experience using these guys http://www.jobs-for-drivers.co.uk. I have signed up basically to be on call for any jobs that come up for delivering packages in my area. However this morning I have had a letter of acceptance and they are asking me to pay a company (Complete Referencing Services) for some kind of checks. Does anyone know if this is genuine or just a scam to pay them £50 for this check. The check mentions things like background checks on qualifications, training achievements, past employment etc.
Its only £50 but wanted to know if anyone else has used them or give advice.
I would ask jobs-for-drivers to send you the forms. I would expect these to be Complete Referencing Services forms and that you would pay CRS direct. They would need your signature to get checks done so there ought to be forms for you to sign.
I've been employed through an agency (for teaching) where I had to pay for the CRB check and I paid the agency, so it isn't necessarily a scam if they ask you to pay the £50 to them rather than CRS but make sure the forms are clearly going through CRS.
What you shouldn't have to do, of course, is pay any kind of registration/administration fee to jobs-for-drivers for finding you work.
I had a look into it as I was about to send off money to CRS and found that after speaking to them on the phone and making calls to Gvt depts, it made me feel uncomfortable in trusting them with my money.:confused:
Ive checked the www.jobs-for-drivers.co.uk website against the website www.comprefsvg.org (Complete Referencing Services) and they were both registered within 2 days of each other in January this year.
Also no company is registered with Royal Mail at the London address and the Brighton address for either of these companies.
I think this is a scam!!!!, would leave well alone.
The Following User Says Thank You to tomsocr For This Useful Post:Show me >>
After my earlier post and another poster asking about the organisation, I investigated further and agree with tomsocr. To re-use a pun, I would steer well clear of this organisation.
I also signed up for these and paid £48 to CRS (who are a reputable firm) but to date (3 weeks) havent had any work from them - me thinks they should be investigated !!!
Location: In a village somewhere so rural in devon it doesn't show up on sat nav
Post Count: 2,439
Thanked 2,734 Times in 1,255 Posts
Why would you need to pay for someone to obtain references or credit check? If it was CRB check I would understand, but those are usually done via the local authority.
The "Bloodlust" Clique - Morally equal to all. Member 10
grocery challenge...Budget £420
Location: In a village somewhere so rural in devon it doesn't show up on sat nav
Post Count: 2,439
Thanked 2,734 Times in 1,255 Posts
Also you would have to inform your insurance company that you are using your vehicle for parcel delivery.
Quote:
Please be aware that, once registered, you can change your availability at any time in your 'user profile'. By increasing your availability, you are increasing the likelihood of showing up in searches
basically no guarantee of work. It's an agency, never never pay to get put onto an agencies books, £21.75 per hour sounds too good to be true, then they still want paying
Quote:
we will never ask for any money upfront.
no but the reference agency does so that's bull.
The "Bloodlust" Clique - Morally equal to all. Member 10
grocery challenge...Budget £420
Location: In a village somewhere so rural in devon it doesn't show up on sat nav
Post Count: 2,439
Thanked 2,734 Times in 1,255 Posts
Is this the Brighton address thay are using?
8th Floor,
Tower Point,
44 North Road,
Brighton
It's the offices og Brighton and Hove Albion, and there is no CRS in the building.
If you have to pay and fill in forms online and there is no address to send a hard copy too, get sus.
The "Bloodlust" Clique - Morally equal to all. Member 10
grocery challenge...Budget £420
Well thanks Hapless for making me feel even more like an idiot - guess I shouldnt be so trustworthy? - A lesson well learnt.....good job I have money to burn ...........NOT !!!
I also mailed Watchdog ...but hey no reply .........£50 down and much much wiser......
“Trust yourself. You know more than you think you do.” :confused:
Location: In a village somewhere so rural in devon it doesn't show up on sat nav
Post Count: 2,439
Thanked 2,734 Times in 1,255 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelig
Well thanks Hapless for making me feel even more like an idiot - guess I shouldnt be so trustworthy? - A lesson well learnt.....good job I have money to burn ...........NOT !!!
I also mailed Watchdog ...but hey no reply .........£50 down and much much wiser......
“Trust yourself. You know more than you think you do.” :confused:
well they do say, once bitten twice shy. good luck with future work.
The "Bloodlust" Clique - Morally equal to all. Member 10
grocery challenge...Budget £420
Agencies take the mickey - they are a licence to print money.
I was getting paid £6 an hour doing washing up when I was between jobs. The company was paying the agency £14
That's a rather high mark-up. I would have thought £9 + VAT would have been nearer the mark. The company would have been silly to pay the agency so much. (Remember that the rate charged by the agency includes employer's NI and an allowance for holiday pay as well as their gross profit.)
I was foolish enough to join Jobs-For-Drivers. Before I filled in the security check and sent my money I rang them to ask a couple of questions and spoke to a guy who sounded nice enough, in the background I could hear other people talking, sounded like a busy office (probably a Pub!). I duly sent off my money and had an e-mail saying I had been activated and that my references were acceptable but have not heard anything since! I have e-mailed them several times, no replys, rang loads of times, just to get "All our operators are busy at the moment, please ring later", on all 4 options given, and the voice that is used on their phone line is the same one as a premium rate competion line I used to ring (Also never received any promised prizes!). This is when alarm bells started to ring!
The password I gave to change my 'Drivers Availability' on their web site will not work! Total shut down! Now they have my money and personal information i.e. my National Insurance number etc. which is far more worrying!
I work for another, genuine Courier Company and they too asked for a security check before I started working for them, so I thought this normal and acceptable to do this because you do handle valuable items every day as a Courier.
Just don't want anyone else to get burned like me!!
hubby was paid min wage for working as a carer through an gency, but the council was paying the agency £15.25 an hour.
Wow!
Possibly in the mark-up there could have included an element for PI too. As an agency teacher I have had to pay my own (and the agency either arranged it or checked details of separately arranged insurance). For a care worker the agency may just have to arrange it direct without passing on the cost to the worker.
Or maybe the agency had more to do in the way of management of the contract than simply pay and giving the worker an employer's name and address.
Has anyone had experience using these guys http://www.jobs-for-drivers.co.uk. I have signed up basically to be on call for any jobs that come up for delivering packages in my area. However this morning I have had a letter of acceptance and they are asking me to pay a company (Complete Referencing Services) for some kind of checks. Does anyone know if this is genuine or just a scam to pay them £50 for this check. The check mentions things like background checks on qualifications, training achievements, past employment etc.
Its only £50 but wanted to know if anyone else has used them or give advice.
Cheers Craig
Be aware, be very aware, I got caught by this crowd, paid my £50.00 and that seemed to be the last I would see of it.Their London Office does not exist any more as I have just had a recorded delivery letter returned as 'gone away'. There is a great deal of negative threads on Gumtree.com, worth a visit. This is a scam it would appear. They say that they are opening a manned office in cambridgeshire. Hold back and watch what happens.
Pete Davies
Pls be nice to all MoneySavers. There's no such thing as a stupid question, and even if you disagree courtesy helps. Take care over copyright. Use excerpts and links rather than copying long text. This site asserts copyright on all comments posted on the board.