Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • qwiksave
    • By qwiksave 2nd Feb 08, 10:45 PM
    • 4,486Posts
    • 16,844Thanks
    qwiksave
    Weirdest tip ever?
    • 2nd Feb 08, 10:45 PM
    Weirdest tip ever? 2nd Feb 08 at 10:45 PM
    I've never written on this board before so 'Hello'

Looking at a book I got from a charity shop, I came across a rather 'unusual' tip! The book is american, and its called 'Vinegar, Duct Tape, Milk Jugs & More' - 1001 ingenious ways to use common household items to repair, restore, revive, or replace just about Everything in Your Life' (Phew!)

The tip was this: 'To make an excellent barrier to stop home permanent chemicals making their way to your eyes, ears or neck, dig out some sanitary minipads that have an adhesive backing. After your hair is up in the bonnet or on the pins and curlers, and before anyone applies anything liquid, attach the minipads sticky side down to the forehead, temples and back of your neck. Laid lengthwise at the edge of your hairline, they will stop all drips from reaching your face or collar.'

"before anyone applies anything liquid" - are they suggesting you do this at the hairdressers? Got to be the funniest/weirdest tip I've ever read! Unless anyone knows different?...

This Forum Tip was included in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email

Don't miss out on new deals, loopholes, and vouchers

Last edited by Former MSE Dan; 05-02-2008 at 9:19 PM.
    I don't want to make money, I just want to be wonderful
    Marilyn Monroe
Page 1
    • MoaningMyrtle
    • By MoaningMyrtle 2nd Feb 08, 10:47 PM