Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Starshine Moonrise
    • By Starshine Moonrise 15th Jan 20, 6:24 PM
    • 13Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Starshine Moonrise
    Foreigner POPLA Appeal Help
    • 15th Jan 20, 6:24 PM
    Foreigner POPLA Appeal Help 15th Jan 20 at 6:24 PM
    Hello and thanks in advance for your help! I am a newbie as I am American and had rented a car for my visit. I received a ticket from Britannia Parking for the standard 100/60 pound deal. I appealed and my appeal was rejected and now I was given a POPLA number.

I parked in a parking lot for a total of 16 minutes. The meter was broken and by the time I asked people how to work the machine and was informed it was broken, I never left the lot and the 16 minutes had passed. When I found out it was broken, I moved the car to another lot. I received the ticket from the rental company. My appeal was denied because it said alternative methods of payment are clearly stated on the signage, by way of calling or using my phone to pay. Now, I didn't have service, as I had an American phone. They also stated there is a 10 minute grace period, I had exceeded.

Can anyone advise me what to do? This is not right. Thank you!
Page 1
    • twhitehousescat
    • By twhitehousescat 15th Jan 20, 6:27 PM
    • 4,550 Posts
    • 5,604 Thanks
    twhitehousescat
    • 15th Jan 20, 6:27 PM
    • 15th Jan 20, 6:27 PM
    ok , so the car hire co named you . you accepted and made appeal as DRIVER

great , how much longer are you in the UK for