Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Boywiz
    • By Boywiz 15th Jan 20, 2:50 PM
    • 5Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Boywiz
    Paying for Services so i can do my job
    • 15th Jan 20, 2:50 PM
    Paying for Services so i can do my job 15th Jan 20 at 2:50 PM
    Hi Not sure if something like this has been answered before but will ask here.

I am an IT consultant for a big-ish firm in London, I have a requirement to understand the three big players Cloud offering, Amazon, Google and Microsoft.

They happily pay for the training and the exam and provide limited functionality environments for us to play in.

I am not a contractor i am a an employee on PAYE

My questions are:
    1. Can i claim some tax relief on travel costs to take the Exam as the company do not cover this?

2. A lot of the functions that i need to keep up to speed with such as complete environment admin of users and security i can not perform in the environments that the company do provide, so if i set up these environments can i claim some relife against these environments bearing in mind there will be 3 of them?

Thanks in advance
    Mo
    No fear but what we make
Page 1
    • Pennywise
    • By Pennywise 15th Jan 20, 3:21 PM
    • 12,507 Posts
    • 25,082 Thanks
    Pennywise
    • 15th Jan 20, 3:21 PM
    • 15th Jan 20, 3:21 PM
    As an employee, you can only claim costs which you incur as a requirement of your job. That usually means as required in your contract of employment.