Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Haris Baig
    • By Haris Baig 17th May 19, 3:22 PM
    • 31Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Haris Baig
    Redundancy help
    • 17th May 19, 3:22 PM
    Redundancy help 17th May 19 at 3:22 PM
    Hello,

Our whole IT team of 3 made redundant, and we were given only two weeks to pack up and leave. I have been working with them for 3 years therefore they are offering me 3 weeks statutory pay and one month notice period pay which is not enough in London.
    They outsourced our jobs to another company and i have found out that it has been going on for past 5 to 6 months and they just informed us which leaving us very less time to find alternative jobs, this weeks passed through in shock and i couldn't concentrate looking for another job. and next week is our second consultation meeting where I have to either accept their offer or come up with something else.
    I want to know that is there any chance i could get more towards redundancy i.e. claim for unfair dismissal or any grievance. it has never happened to me before. i had a phone interview yesterday where i was asked my age, and today i received a refusal, now i am concerned that being 38 years old will get a job that easily.

Please advise.

Regards
    HB
Page 1
    • Comms69
    • By Comms69 17th May 19, 3:39 PM
    • 8,058 Posts
    • 9,000 Thanks
    Comms69
    • 17th May 19, 3:39 PM
    • 17th May 19, 3:39 PM
    Speak to your union.
    • lincroft1710
    • By lincroft1710 17th May 19, 3:46 PM
    • 11,867 Posts