Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Deej321
    • By Deej321 16th May 19, 8:20 AM
    • 8Posts
    • 2Thanks
    Deej321
    RSA say can't consider complaint as insurance sold by estate agent belonging to another business
    • 16th May 19, 8:20 AM
    RSA say can't consider complaint as insurance sold by estate agent belonging to another business 16th May 19 at 8:20 AM
    Hi! I've been paying ppi since 2000! It will be tied to my first mortgage through the derbyshire building society now owned by nationwide. However the money showed a reference on my statement as First Assist. A bit of quick digging led me to Cigna (owner of first assist) who put me onto RSA, who told me they can't consider my complaint!

They say:

The insurance was sold by an estate agent belonging to Sequence UK which was legally considered a seperate business. Sequence estate agents were not appointed representatives of RSA for the sale of PPI which means we are not responsible for the policy sale.

Any pointers?! I'll buy you a drink!
    Last edited by Deej321; 16-05-2019 at 8:24 AM.
Page 1
    • Moneyineptitude
    • By Moneyineptitude 16th May 19, 8:41 AM
    • 23,624 Posts
    • 12,948 Thanks
    Moneyineptitude
    • 16th May 19, 8:41 AM
    • 16th May 19, 8:41 AM
    Unfortunately, you have addressed your complaint to the wrong people. However, even if you had sent it to the Estate Agent who actually sold you the PPI, the complaint would not have to be considered as such sellers were not regulated in the year 2000.