Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Allisonf87
    • By Allisonf87 16th Apr 19, 9:01 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Allisonf87
    Universal credit overpayment
    • 16th Apr 19, 9:01 AM
    Universal credit overpayment 16th Apr 19 at 9:01 AM
    Last June my husband was made redundant and as I was a full time student I was not working. We went to our local office and put in a claim for UC. We were given an advance payment to cover the coming months bills and my husband continued to look for work. Come September I started my second year of college and took my student loan forms into the office and they were uploaded. My husband still unemployed was offered a place on a college course and he too applied for student loans and started college. Again his funding forms were taken into the office and had been uploaded on to the journal. This has been confirmed in the office when I visited yesterday. My claim was then stopped due to an over payment, and I have been asked to make arrangements to pay it back, however when I enquired why there was an overpayment they advised itís because the student loan payment doesnít seem to be have taken into account. I spoke to someone and they advised I can can appeal which I now have. It appears an issue at their end. I have given all the correct information and obviously wrongly assumed as I have done everything right at my end, that they would do the same. The lady on the phone from UC advised that they will argue that all the information is available online. Any advide ?
Page 1
    • pmlindyloo