Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • AMN1607
    • By AMN1607 12th Apr 19, 6:20 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    AMN1607
    Going self employed & universal credit
    • 12th Apr 19, 6:20 PM
    Going self employed & universal credit 12th Apr 19 at 6:20 PM
    Hi, newbie here, so I apologise if this is in the wrong forum.
    I am currently working 15 per hours a week cleaning while also working self employed as a pet sitter/dog walker.

I am planning on leaving the cleaning job at the start of the summer holidays in July and concentrate on building up my client base and working towards being full time self employed.

Based on what I am earning currently (and assuming all goes well and I keep the clients I already have and gaining new clients) I predict my income this financial year to be approx £8000. I am looking into an accountant who can deal with all the HMRC side of things as I really donít understand it!

I have read online that I could apply for universal credit as my income would be very low to start with, and that if I am eligible then I would be able to meet with a small business advisor to help gain more clients etc and of course help with finances.

So basically what I am asking is has anyone done this before? Is it worth doing? Will the job centre be on my back constantly and sanctioning me if Iím donít do something correct? I have never claimed any benefits/UC and have worked full time since age 19 (now 29) so have been paying tax/NI through PAYE.