Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • ak613
    • By ak613 13th Jan 19, 8:07 PM
    • 10Posts
    • 2Thanks
    ak613
    Section 75 claim
    • 13th Jan 19, 8:07 PM
    Section 75 claim 13th Jan 19 at 8:07 PM
    Hi,

I have a laptop that I bought on 30/10/18 for just under £1700 (I am an IT professional so the expense is justified) on my Halifax Clarity.

Since then a litany of issues with it have appeared one of which was a problem with the battery which dell replaced last monday but the new battery is still problematic.

I have spoken to dell to get a refund and it feels like they will fob me off and give me grief (they have already tried to say I am ineligible for a refund as it is over 30 days since I bought the product and after I quoted the consumer rights act to them about faulty goods they put me on hold for ages and came back and said that since I had refused troubleshooting (I hadn't refused at all) they have to refer me to a different department who will call me back some time this week to discuss the matter further. This feels like classic evasive tactics.

To save myself time I looked it up and I can make a Section 75 claim concurrently with the refund request to dell.

I have never done it before, but if I make a claim under section 75 (or maybe chargeback would be better?) how does the process work?

Specifically:

1. what sort of things will Halifax want from me to process the claim