Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • RTodd
    • By RTodd 14th Sep 18, 9:53 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    RTodd
    Self Assessment software advice
    • 14th Sep 18, 9:53 PM
    Self Assessment software advice 14th Sep 18 at 9:53 PM
    Hello one and all,

I'm a self-employed individual, who has income from a rental property and I've also recently had to take a part time PAYE employment. I've been doing my tax returns for nearly 20 years by myself but it's starting to get more and more complicated to keep tabs on what tax I've already paid & what I need to save.

The HMRC has a list of software and I've been looking at a bunch of them and other options but none seems to quite cover everything. They either submit property income but not employment or the other way around.

So far I've looked at:

FreeAgent: which I think could be good but it doesn't have the rental income (SA105) section. Is there a workaround that anyone knows about?

Quickbooks (Self Employed): great receipt scanning capabilities but no flexibility for employed income and rental either.... unless I need small businesses or another of their packages?

GoSimpleTax: Seemed clunky as hell and didn't have all the different options.

What have I missed - is there ANYTHING out there? Particularly ones with iPhone apps as I work away and this would be a great way to keep on top of things.

Or do I want the moon on a stick?????
Page 1
    • badmemory
    • By badmemory 14th Sep 18, 11:28 PM
    • 2,216 Posts
    • 3,183 Thanks
    badmemory
    • 14th Sep 18, 11:28 PM