Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • tld2004
    • By tld2004 11th Aug 18, 6:46 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    tld2004
    Nationwide customer of 19 years - How good are they for mortgages? Switch accounts or not?
    • 11th Aug 18, 6:46 PM
    Nationwide customer of 19 years - How good are they for mortgages? Switch accounts or not? 11th Aug 18 at 6:46 PM
    Hi

I'm new to the forum and after some advice please.

I'm a self employed contractor working in the City. I've been a customer of Nationwide for the past 19 years (account opened when I was a child) and continue to use it as my main Current account for bills etc. I have a large lump in savings with Nationwide, ready to buy first home next year.

I've noticed that some banks are offering some very generous rates on current/savings accounts and I'm considering switching banks to take advantage of this.

Being self employed, I don't suppose I will be eligable for a mortgage with Nationwide, but will mortgage brokers/mortgage companies consider my 19 year history with Nationwide a positive?

If yes, then I'll keep my Current account with Nationwide, but transfer a chunk of my savings out to a better standalone savings account.

If no one seems to think my loyal custom with Nationwide will have any positive impact on mortgage applications, I'm happy to consider switching banks altogether.