Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Yiddishkeit
    • By Yiddishkeit 11th Aug 18, 1:02 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Yiddishkeit
    Desperately need to make high-yielding investments - advice?
    • 11th Aug 18, 1:02 PM
    Desperately need to make high-yielding investments - advice? 11th Aug 18 at 1:02 PM
    For various personal reasons I have to work less, so I need to set myself up with some kind of income.

Because of my reduced work - and I'm also a freelancer too which makes things difficult - I'm not sure if I can do the thing most obvious to Brits - buy a house, rent it out. I'd need a mortgage to buy a house in the obvious parts of the UK.

I have 50 000 at minimum, possibly 100 000. (50k is saved up of my own; my father could be persuaded to give me my inheritance early if the investment is in the sort of thing he understands/approves of i.e. a house or a business. The old man does not understand or really know what stocks and shares are...)

What are my options?

I am not really interested in growing the investment - as long as it's not reducing in value. I simply want to get the maximum yield possible in an investment that is fairly stable in its own value and not wildly risky (but I'd accept a fair amount of risk)

Some ideas of my own -