Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Nespressos
    • By Nespressos 10th Aug 18, 1:04 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Nespressos
    High PAYE and NI taxes
    • 10th Aug 18, 1:04 PM
    High PAYE and NI taxes 10th Aug 18 at 1:04 PM
    Hi everyone,
    I hope this is the right place to post this
    I'm a student, was a full time college student and will be starting uni in september.
    I've been working 35 hours per week through college (was over 18 when I started college), and am now working more in order to be able to support myself at university.

I've just recieved my paycheck and I've worked just over 95 hours in the last fortnight. My PAYE tax is 105 and my NI is 78.
    Is this about right? It feels like an awful lot, that equates to 22 of my 95 hours being unpaid.
    I've read all income under 11k a year is tax free, however I am earning above that.
    Does anyone have any suggestions or is this just one of those "just accept it, taxes suck." things?
Page 1
    • chrisbur
    • By chrisbur 10th Aug 18, 2:07 PM
    • 3,034 Posts
    • 1,651 Thanks
    chrisbur
    • 10th Aug 18, 2:07 PM
    • 10th Aug 18, 2:07 PM
    Hi everyone,
    I hope this is the right place to post this
    I'm a student, was a full time college student and will be starting uni in september.
    I've been working 35 hours per week through college (was over 18 when I started college), and am now working more in order to be able to support myself at university.