Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • wildmushroom
    • By wildmushroom 7th Aug 18, 11:49 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    wildmushroom
    Investment & rent or shared ownership (in London)
    • 7th Aug 18, 11:49 PM
    Investment & rent or shared ownership (in London) 7th Aug 18 at 11:49 PM
    Disclaimer: Utter newbie here and stumped but willing to learn, just a bit overwhelmed.

Put simply - I have saved a good chunk (40k ish) that I was intending to use as a deposit for a flat on shared ownership in London. However and re-considering whether it is more worthwhile to rent and invest that saving instead (single 23yo professional).
    I realise this is a well debated topic, but which ultimately is specific to each situation so hoping someone can at least give pointers on where to look - anything appreciated so I stop letting it all rot in a bank account as is. Some wild and likely unhelpful thoughts of mine below.

------------------------------

My own views were:

Shared Ownership
    Pros
    1. 25-50% share Iíll get back from the mortgage side (as opposed to 100% 'loss' in rent)
    2. Likely cheaper than renting (just) even including rent/service charges
    3. London housing market = fairly good prospect of upward increase in value
    Cons
    1. No full rights (ie can't have pets, can't sublet, can't do work)
    2. Restricted market (ie cannot sell on open market - possibly lower value increase as a result)