Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • pedro789
    • By pedro789 7th Aug 18, 1:33 PM
    • 37Posts
    • 0Thanks
    pedro789
    S&S Isa advice
    • 7th Aug 18, 1:33 PM
    S&S Isa advice 7th Aug 18 at 1:33 PM
    Hi all
    Hoped I could get some advice on S&S Isa. I've been paying in 150 p/m to two funds via HL for last 5+ years (Jupiter Merlin Worldwide & Stewart EM).

I've kind of left them during that time and they've grown modestly, both in quartile 3/4, and now considering my options.

I don't spend much time analyzing performance and willing to invest for long term and wondered whether switching to something like Vanguard LS 80 might be a better option?

As you can see I'm not most sophisticated investor, so pls go easy on me :-). Appreciate any advice, thanks.
Page 1
    • fun4everyone
    • By fun4everyone 7th Aug 18, 1:42 PM
    • 1,016 Posts
    • 1,552 Thanks
    fun4everyone
    • 7th Aug 18, 1:42 PM
    • 7th Aug 18, 1:42 PM
    Given what you have said your plan sounds good. I presume the money is being left untouched for 10 years+? It does need to be for an 80% equity investment. If you are leaving it for even longer than that then you might consider 100% equity.

For that amount of money and the fact you don't want the hassle of analyzing your portfolio I completely agree with a single global passive fund strategy. You might want to look into other similar funds to VLS before making the final choice of which fund to use but it will do the job perfectly imo.