Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • dredgos
    • By dredgos 13th Jul 18, 10:22 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    dredgos
    New to investing
    • 13th Jul 18, 10:22 PM
    New to investing 13th Jul 18 at 10:22 PM
    Hi everyone, another investment newbie here!

In the past I have not paid a huge amount of attention to my savings, I have tended to just use regular saver accounts to get a good interest rate and then at the end of the period that money ends up in an ordinary saving account. However, I have now taken a much greater interest in what I could be doing with my money and I definitely think I could be making better use of it. I am 32 and have a mortgage, but my investment would definitely be looking for long term growth as I do not need the money now so would be looking at 10-20 years strategies.

I have set up my 'emergency fund' now and with what is left (2500ish) and also some regular top ups (100-200) I was thinking about investing my money to try and get more from it than the 1% it gets sat in my savings account.

Doing some reading, both on these forums and around the internet, it seems that with the money I am looking to use going for a multi asset fund may be the way to go given the capital I have to put into it. What advice would people have for someone in my position?
Page 1
    • Audaxer
    • By Audaxer 13th Jul 18, 11:10 PM
    • 1,432 Posts
    • 871 Thanks
    Audaxer
    • 13th Jul 18, 11:10 PM
    • 13th Jul 18, 11:10 PM