Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • electrum2008
    • By electrum2008 12th Jul 18, 8:42 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    electrum2008
    Change of tax code / Paying the right amount of tax
    • 12th Jul 18, 8:42 PM
    Change of tax code / Paying the right amount of tax 12th Jul 18 at 8:42 PM
    Hi guys, I am hoping someone can help me (at least before I contact HMRC)

I am unsure whether my current tax code is correct and whether I am paying the right amount of tax currently.

Current situation

I am a freelance journalist so I am not guaranteed work or have a fixed contract with the organisation.

I get paid on a weekly basis, PAYE

Current tax year

My current earnings (before tax) for this tax year so far is is 5,630.00
    The tax I have paid this year is 954.00
    NI is 402.84
    Current tax code:: 297L

Last tax year as stated on P60

Earnings: 7,375.00
    Tax paid: 86.20
    Tax code was: 1150L
    ----
    When I do work I tend to get paid between 375 to 500 in a week (before tax), but that's not every week.

So just wondered if my tax code is correct as it changed as you can see, so wondered why and if is correct.

I've looked in different places but can't seem to find a definitive answer so wanted to ask here before doing anything further.
Page 1
    • 00ec25
    • By 00ec25 12th Jul 18, 8:53 PM
    • 6,636 Posts
    • 6,212 Thanks
    00ec25
    • 12th Jul 18, 8:53 PM
    • 12th Jul 18, 8:53 PM