Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Edna123
    • By Edna123 5th Jul 18, 9:05 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Edna123
    NPower - Direct Debit Increased significantly!
    • 5th Jul 18, 9:05 AM
    NPower - Direct Debit Increased significantly! 5th Jul 18 at 9:05 AM
    Hello!
    This is my first time posting, but would like some advice from anyone in regard to Npower and their significant increase in billing.
    I received my statement yesterday which states that my direct debit is increasing from 61 to 174 a month (!)
    We currently live in a 2 bed terrace, no appliances that would drain energy significantly and are hardly at the property (working full time)
    We've lived there nearly 3 years and until May of this year our direct debit was always 47 and that generally kept us slightly in credit. It increased to 61 in May.
    I spoke to customer services yesterday who informed me we are 500 in debit and that it was probably due to a cold winter. We will struggle to pay this, and i feel its ludicrous that it has increased so much....
    Any advice / similar experiences?
    Thank you
Page 1
    • Cardew
    • By Cardew 5th Jul 18, 9:43 AM
    • 27,459 Posts
    • 13,455 Thanks
    Cardew
    • 5th Jul 18, 9:43 AM
    • 5th Jul 18, 9:43 AM
    Welcome to the forum.

Yours is a very common scenario which is almost certainly caused by your bills being based on under-estimated meter readings; and you now have a 'catch-up' bill.

If you want accurate bills you must check the meter readings and contact Npower if they are incorrect.