Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Morbier
    • By Morbier 3rd Jul 18, 4:39 PM
    • 66Posts
    • 73Thanks
    Morbier
    Advice needed, selling car privately
    • 3rd Jul 18, 4:39 PM
    Advice needed, selling car privately 3rd Jul 18 at 4:39 PM
    Hello all

Newbie here, so bear with me.

Im selling my Mini Cooper S privately as I assume that I will get more money for it that way.

However, being a lady of a certain age I am a bit worried about when it comes to taking prospective buyers for a test drive. Nothing wrong with the car, I hasten to add, just me feeling very vulnerable with strangers in my car. What if a couple of big, burly blokes turn up?! Never mind whether we could all fit in a Mini! What is there to stop them chucking me out and driving off with my car?

I know I have to make sure they have insurance before I let them drive, and I know not to leave the engine running while I am outside the car, in case they jump in and drive off but what else should I do?

Apologies in advance to any big, burly blokes who would never harm little old (well, not that old) ladies! It was just an example of my fears.

Some useful hints from anyone who has been in this situation would be very welcome, thanks.
Page 1
    • alan_d
    • By alan_d 3rd Jul 18, 4:45 PM
    • 94 Posts
    • 72 Thanks
    alan_d
    • 3rd Jul 18, 4:45 PM
    • 3rd Jul 18, 4:45 PM
    I think you're worrying too much.
    If you're unhappy with the potential buyer(s) then you could refuse to let them drive it.