Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Spacker
    • By Spacker 14th May 18, 10:43 AM
    • 40Posts
    • 103Thanks
    Spacker
    Special Guardianship Order SGO costs?
    • 14th May 18, 10:43 AM
    Special Guardianship Order SGO costs? 14th May 18 at 10:43 AM
    Hi,

I've been caring for a step-uncles children since they were three years old, they're now ten (my parents had the boy from birth and his twin sister from age two). We don't have any official arrangement, aside from social services asking us to take them in - they visted once and we haven't heard from them since.

We went to a solictor last week to obtain an SGO, we've not had any reason to need one so far but I don't want to regret not having one in the future. The solicitor quoted between 5,000 - 7,000 which seems rather a lot for what seems to be a straightforward process. Can anyone confirm I should have stuck with A level Law instead of Comp Sci?
Page 1
    • Browntoa
    • By Browntoa 14th May 18, 11:07 AM
    • 34,035 Posts
    • 40,150 Thanks
    Browntoa
    • 14th May 18, 11:07 AM
    • 14th May 18, 11:07 AM
    Is adoption not an option
    I'm the Board Guide of the Referrers ,Telephones, Pensions , Shop Don't drop ,over 50's and Discount Code boards which means I volunteer to help get your forum questions answered and keep the forum runnning smoothly .However, please remember, board guides don't read every post. If you spot an inappropriate or illegal post please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.