Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Jamesweir123
    • By Jamesweir123 12th May 18, 9:46 AM
    • 7Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Jamesweir123
    Hmrc 30 hours childcare issues no reminder
    • 12th May 18, 9:46 AM
    Hmrc 30 hours childcare issues no reminder 12th May 18 at 9:46 AM
    Hello all, I'm taking a break from my melt down to write this post in the hope someone can shed some light on my issue.

I am new to free childcare as started my eldest child (now 3 1/2) in September. I received two emails with a deadline date of December the 1st anti reconfirm and I did this. The message on the hmrc website was that they would contact me 4 weeks before I was to reconfirm again.
    five months passed and still nothing so I logged on and reconfirmed myself.
    My childcare provider was then told that the code was for next term and I'd missed the deadline date for this term meaning I'd have to pay for my son's childcare myself!!! I phoned hmrc to ask why they hadn't informed me in advance like they should have done and they couldn't tell me, just asked for me to complain.

I am totally distraught at the moment as we just cannot afford the childcare costs so don't know where we stand for appealing it. I feel like I've totally been let down by the system and as a busy working mum time passes so fast you really do rely on these reminders especially when the only experience you've had of them before was that they send them in advance.

Has anyone else experienced this or could anyone shed any light?