Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Chickendinner12
    • By Chickendinner12 8th May 18, 9:10 PM
    • 14Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Chickendinner12
    Council tax (sorry if I知 wrong place)
    • 8th May 18, 9:10 PM
    Council tax (sorry if I知 wrong place) 8th May 18 at 9:10 PM
    I was previously in a rented house in 2014 while I was a student and as I was a student I was exempt from paying council tax, except this was the third year so I am assuming my exemption was over by may/June. However I was never sent a bill and never thought much of it. I contacted the council today to ask if I should have paid this and they said they had no record of me living there or bills with my name on it and to not worry.

Should I worrry that they will come for me at some point in the future or not?
Page 1
    • davidmcn
    • By davidmcn 8th May 18, 9:21 PM
    • 8,523 Posts
    • 8,980 Thanks
    davidmcn
    • 8th May 18, 9:21 PM
    • 8th May 18, 9:21 PM
    If the council themselves have told you not to worry then I'm not sure why you'd want to start!

I'm still waiting for the council to catch up with me about council tax for a flat I moved out of in 1997.
    • 00ec25
    • By 00ec25 8th May 18, 11:12 PM
    • 6,970 Posts
    • 6,650 Thanks
    00ec25
    • 8th May 18, 11:12 PM
    • 8th May 18, 11:12 PM
    there are 3 possibilities: