Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Johnny_B
    • By Johnny_B 8th May 18, 2:37 PM
    • 8Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Johnny_B
    Total noob, PPI query
    • 8th May 18, 2:37 PM
    Total noob, PPI query 8th May 18 at 2:37 PM
    Eh up.

I'm not convinced that I ever had PPI for loans, credit cards or mortgages...if I did, I certainly didn't take it out knowingly.

However, I have NO IDEA who I have had cards and loans with from 5 years ago and older (I tended to take a credit card with a 0% period and then do the 0% balance transfer thing and cancel/cut up the old cards) so I have no idea where to start looking.

There have been several companies advertising on the radio who claim that they can actually chase all of that up without any paperwork from me.

Frankly I'm tempted; 70% of something is bigger than 100% of nowt.

So, questions:

1. Is there a way to find out who I borrowed from and if they missold me PPI dating back say...20 years? I tried the MSE Credit Club but my report only goes back five or six years.

2. If there isn't...does anyone know a good (comparative term, I know) claims company I can use...like I said, I'd rather have 70% of something than 100% of nothing.

I have read through a few threads on the use of claims companies and all of them have descended into name calling and arguing...if you can be kind and just answer the questions I've asked, that would be really really appreciated.

Thanks all!
Page 1
    • Moneyineptitude
    • By Moneyineptitude 8th May 18, 2:40 PM
    • 20,637 Posts
    • 11,491 Thanks
    Moneyineptitude