Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • LLM2018
    • By LLM2018 17th Apr 18, 8:08 AM
    • 117Posts
    • 388Thanks
    LLM2018
    New venture - sole trader novice
    • 17th Apr 18, 8:08 AM
    New venture - sole trader novice 17th Apr 18 at 8:08 AM
    Hello. I'm looking for some advice. I am looking to become a self employed sole trader with a website.

I am a complete novice as I have always been employed. I'm looking for a step by step guide at what to do.

I have been researching and there is too much information so I'm getting in a muddle argh.

I have no idea how to set up a website, get a domain name etc. Do I have to pay for monthly services? If so who do you recommend?

Also do u have to tell Hmrc now or only when I submit a tax return form next year if I'm successful?

Many thanks
    Last edited by LLM2018; 17-04-2018 at 8:20 AM.
    #21 Make 1% challenge 79.95/100%
    #78 PAYDBX '18 1994/2494 paid
    #6 Crazy clothes challenge
    1 debt vs 100 days 100/600 so far
    #54 SPC 12 Opening 31st Oct 2019 It will be a total surprise
Page 1
    • jonesMUFCforever
    • By jonesMUFCforever 20th Apr 18, 8:46 AM
    • 25,377 Posts
    • 12,594 Thanks
    jonesMUFCforever
    • 20th Apr 18, 8:46 AM
    • 20th Apr 18, 8:46 AM
    First of all what are you self trading in?
    Do you actually need a website now to start with or do you have a list of clients you do work for?

My opinion don't complicate things to begin with.
    You will need to inform HMRC that you are self employed.
    What goes around - comes around