Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • JSCB
    • By JSCB 16th Apr 18, 4:46 PM
    • 44Posts
    • 12Thanks
    JSCB
    Physical Job - Should I be working out to strengthen my back?
    • 16th Apr 18, 4:46 PM
    Physical Job - Should I be working out to strengthen my back? 16th Apr 18 at 4:46 PM
    Hi everyone,

This isn't so much about money saving but rather my longer term health. I work in the building trade, carry vast quantities of heavy plasterboards into 2 and 3 story houses almost daily, I'm 21 and been doing it a few years, but this week after working in 3 story houses for a few weeks my back is really aching in a way I've not felt it before. It's a different kind of ache to muscle ache.

While I have a physical job, I don't do anything else for fitness outside of it but I'm beginning to wonder whether I should be exercising in a non-strenuous way voluntarily, in order to strengthen the muscles in my core and back, so that they can cope with my work better.

I always thought my body would get used to it and I'm best not exercising out of work in order to reduce the total amount of stress it takes, but now I'm wandering whether I should be working out to be fitter and so it can cope better and not be so beaten up at work.

Does anyone have any experience of this sort of thing? I'm only 21 but want to make sure I'm doing everything I can now to ensure I don't sustain injuries or damage my body and back for the longer term.

Thanks a lot,
Page 1
    • deadendwaterfall
    • By deadendwaterfall 16th Apr 18, 7:19 PM
    • 34 Posts
    • 4 Thanks