Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Machito
    • By Machito 16th Apr 18, 3:40 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Machito
    0 WOW
    Flight advice
    • 16th Apr 18, 3:40 PM
    0 WOW
    Flight advice 16th Apr 18 at 3:40 PM
    Hello all.

I am a 48 year old UK male. I would like to go to Colombia in June this year, after leaving my rented accommodation and putting my possessions at a family member's home.

I hope to begin doing voluntary work as a means to know the country better. In August the school year starts for private schools. I'm a primary school teacher and I don't presently have a job, so assuming I like the country I would like to approach some of the international schools to see if they have any last minute vacancies. I have been reliably informed that such vacancies do come up. Alternatively I might prefer to continue doing voluntary work - Workaway has various opportunities which look really interesting and would provide me with accommodation and 3 meals a day. Alternatively I might even want to look for work in another field (in which I would be at an advantage as a native English speaker.)

Re. visas: I can stay for 90 days with no visa and for a small fee extend the visa to 180 days. Or I can pop to a nearby country for the weekend then reenter and start again. To work legally I would need an employer to organise a work visa - by all accounts if they want to employ me then they will be willing to do that.