Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • StayFree
    • By StayFree 15th Apr 18, 7:28 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    StayFree
    P87 Mileage tax relief
    • 15th Apr 18, 7:28 PM
    P87 Mileage tax relief 15th Apr 18 at 7:28 PM
    hi,
    i am a complete newbie, this is my first post so please forgive any etiquette blunders.
    I have a question about P87 tax reclaim on mileage. I have done this only once before, last year, but had been with my employer only part of a year so did not hit the 2,500 threshold for allowable expenses. This year i was paid just over 3k allowable expenses due to a lot of work related travelling but only get 23p per mile expenses after the first 4000 miles so claiming the difference would be well worth it BUT over 2,500 it hits self-assessment form territory, which i really am not sure I want to venture into. So, my question is - can I just fill in the form claiming the tax relief for just part of the year, therefore keeping me below the threshold? any advice much appreciated.
Page 1
    • 00ec25
    • By 00ec25 15th Apr 18, 9:02 PM
    • 6,373 Posts
    • 5,883 Thanks
    00ec25
    • 15th Apr 18, 9:02 PM
    • 15th Apr 18, 9:02 PM
    why are you afraid of doing a tax return? Are you hiding something?

at the end of the day you are free to make no claim, partial claim or claim every penny you can get away with. Entirely your free will to choose what you do.
    • Dazed and confused
    • By Dazed and confused 15th Apr 18, 11:54 PM
    • 2,555 Posts
    • 1,226 Thanks
    Dazed and confused
    • 15th Apr 18, 11:54 PM