Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • samkenn
    • By samkenn 15th Apr 18, 4:07 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    samkenn
    Completion date close to expiry of mortgage offer
    • 15th Apr 18, 4:07 PM
    Completion date close to expiry of mortgage offer 15th Apr 18 at 4:07 PM
    Hi all,

This is my first time posting, so let me know if anything could be clearer! And apologies for the length, I'm trying to give extra detail in case it's helpful.

The crux of this post is that I am unclear how much risk I am taking by agreeing to a completion date close to the expiry of my mortgage offer.

A bit of background:
    My partner and I are first-time buyers and we had an offer accepted on a flat back in November last year. We were originally planning to exchange contracts in February but on the day agreed for exchange the top of the chain pulled out, saying they'd found subsidence in the place they were buying. However, the chain didn't collapse entirely and the rest of us agreed that we'd wait for them to find a new place to buy or, failing that, move into rental.
    Since then, they've had an offer accepted elsewhere and the whole chain is getting ready to exchange on the 20th April. The only outstanding issue appears to be agreeing the completion date.

The current question: