Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • username2019
    • By username2019 13th Apr 18, 4:26 PM
    • 13Posts
    • 3Thanks
    username2019
    Terminating an employee that has raised a grievance
    • 13th Apr 18, 4:26 PM
    Terminating an employee that has raised a grievance 13th Apr 18 at 4:26 PM
    Hi I was wondering if we had any HR people on here? I'm a manager in a small business and I report directly to the owner. A member of my team has recently submitted a grievance that she feels she is being discriminated against and treated less favourably than male colleagues. We are deeply sorry that she feels this way but now feel that there has been a breakdown in the relationship and that she would be better moving on to other employment.

I'm aware that raising a grievance on a protected characteristic means this is now a tricky process but can we still dismiss her? She's had less than 2 years service so is unable to claim unfair dismissal.
Page 1
    • Barny1979
    • By Barny1979 13th Apr 18, 4:30 PM
    • 4,128 Posts
    • 45,023 Thanks
    Barny1979
    • 13th Apr 18, 4:30 PM
    • 13th Apr 18, 4:30 PM
    Classy move.
    • stator
    • By stator 13th Apr 18, 4:39 PM
    • 6,449 Posts
    • 4,308 Thanks
    stator
    • 13th Apr 18, 4:39 PM
    How about you just grow up instead?
    Employees can have grievances without needing to sack them.
    Perhaps you should try and see it from another perspective.
    You want a company full of only men? It sounds like it.