Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Bostonducks8
    • By Bostonducks8 9th Apr 18, 11:52 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 1Thanks
    Bostonducks8
    REMO Child Maintenance
    • 9th Apr 18, 11:52 PM
    REMO Child Maintenance 9th Apr 18 at 11:52 PM
    Hi
    This is my first time posting but I have a problem. My husband moved to the USA from the UK seven years ago, he now wants a divorce. He also recently became a US citizen but two months after doing so he stopped paying child maintenance. His maintenance payments was arranged and agreed informally between us or in my case I accepted and was happy with what I was receiving. For his application for American citizenship he has to prove to be of a good moral character. I had to notarize a letter to say he was making maintenance payments which showed he was meeting his financial obligations in the UK. This commitment to show good moral character is ongoing I believe and of course now he has US citizenship he has stopped and as my arrangement was informal I have no court papers. How can I go about getting him to pay again can I threaten to inform immigration or will that not really do anything but aggravate the already difficult situation?
Page 1
    • NeilCr
    • By NeilCr 10th Apr 18, 5:11 PM
    • 2,285 Posts
    • 3,140 Thanks
    NeilCr
    • 10th Apr 18, 5:11 PM
    • 10th Apr 18, 5:11 PM