Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • pointer77
    • By pointer77 9th Apr 18, 10:38 PM
    • 10Posts
    • 3Thanks
    pointer77
    Two mortgages?
    • 9th Apr 18, 10:38 PM
    Two mortgages? 9th Apr 18 at 10:38 PM
    Hello All,

Newbie here looking for some advice.

We have had an offer accepted on a house we really like and at the time the sale of my flat was going through nicely.
    Since then my buyer has pulled out which means my flat is back on the market. I have a mortgage on this property but at the moment I'm living with my partner who rents her house and we were due to buy together.

We really don't want to pull out of our new house (the deposit for the mortgage still won't be a problem) but where do I stand with having two mortgages? Is it best to pull out of the new one or hope that my flat sells quickly now its back on the market?
Page 1
    • kingstreet
    • By kingstreet 10th Apr 18, 8:00 AM
    • 34,101 Posts
    • 18,503 Thanks
    kingstreet
    • 10th Apr 18, 8:00 AM
    • 10th Apr 18, 8:00 AM
    You would need to establish;-

that you pass affordability with your new lender with the mortgage remaining in place and;

that your new lender will accept the mortgage remaining in place.