Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • middlesis
    • By middlesis 9th Apr 18, 8:12 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    middlesis
    named executor is also a debtor of the estate
    • 9th Apr 18, 8:12 AM
    named executor is also a debtor of the estate 9th Apr 18 at 8:12 AM
    Hi everyone, I am new to this so please bear with me. but my question is this - my older sister has been named as executor to my mothers will, however she and her 2 daughters owe my mum a large sum of money (about 30K) and they are quite clearly in financial difficulties. Although she acknowledges the debt, she refuses to discuss it and takes a rather superior attitude about being the eldest sibling. My younger sister and I feel quite worried as the three of us are equal beneficiaries along with our children, and are thinking that there may be a significant conflict of interest between her roles of beneficiary and executor. I have to say here, that Mum is still alive and kicking, but at 87 yrs old and with dementia she finds making important decisions confusing and will do or say anything for a quiet life. This is a rather short-winded version, but I hope someone could maybe point us in the right direction before it spirals out of control. Thank you all.
    Last edited by middlesis; 10-04-2018 at 7:53 AM. Reason: wrong wording used in title
Page 1
    • Yorkshireman99
    • By Yorkshireman99 9th Apr 18, 9:11 AM
    • 4,501 Posts
    • 3,726 Thanks
    Yorkshireman99
    • 9th Apr 18, 9:11 AM
    • 9th Apr 18, 9:11 AM