Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • gordyb
    • By gordyb 9th Apr 18, 12:14 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    gordyb
    1 per month payments
    • 9th Apr 18, 12:14 AM
    1 per month payments 9th Apr 18 at 12:14 AM
    Hello i have been paying 1 per month for a debt for approx 10 years i normally pay it in at the bank,would it be fine to set up a standing order and would the debt company be able to take any more out of the account cheers
Page 1
    • January2015
    • By January2015 9th Apr 18, 12:56 AM
    • 2,054 Posts
    • 5,125 Thanks
    January2015
    • 9th Apr 18, 12:56 AM
    • 9th Apr 18, 12:56 AM
    Hello i have been paying 1 per month for a debt for approx 10 years i normally pay it in at the bank,would it be fine to set up a standing order and would the debt company be able to take any more out of the account cheers
    Originally posted by gordyb
    Standing order is fine. The creditor cannot 'take' money from your bank with a standing order arrangement. You are in control of the amount paid, the frequency of payments and the date of the payments.

I pay all my creditors through monthly standing order.
    DFW Nerd No. 1484 LBM 07/01/15 Debt was 95k I'm driving it down
    1k emergency fund (member #84) 1k/1k
    [COLOR=Blue][SIZE=2]
    • sourcrates
    • By sourcrates 9th Apr 18, 10:07 AM
    • 13,727 Posts
    • 13,063 Thanks
    sourcrates
    • 9th Apr 18, 10:07 AM
    • 9th Apr 18, 10:07 AM
    What type of account is it that you have been paying the 1 a month to for 10 years ?