Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • sprucegs
    • By sprucegs 8th Apr 18, 10:48 PM
    • 44Posts
    • 3Thanks
    sprucegs
    Self employed and new changes
    • 8th Apr 18, 10:48 PM
    Self employed and new changes 8th Apr 18 at 10:48 PM
    I'm a sole trader (self employed) and running a very small gardening business.
    The new data protection laws coming in next month, am I required to do anything?
    For my self assessment records I keep a copy of invoices which obviously has clients name and address on, which are stored on my work pc and also hard copied into a folder. I also have clients numbers saved in my mobile phone. I'm confused as to whether I need to do anything or change anything to comply with the new changes?
    Many thanks.
Page 1
    • Sanne
    • By Sanne 8th Apr 18, 11:35 PM
    • 349 Posts
    • 315 Thanks
    Sanne
    • 8th Apr 18, 11:35 PM
    • 8th Apr 18, 11:35 PM
    Do you have a website? Do you pass details to anyone else?

You will be a data controller of your customer!!!8217;s data and the legal ground for processing will most likely be contractual obligations, i.e. unless you use details for marketing you don!!!8217;t need to worry about opt-ins etc.

You will need to consider your retention period, I.e. how long do you keep certain data (invoices, phone numbers), however, for invoices, legal requirements will be your guide.