Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Spring89
    • By Spring89 4th Apr 18, 12:01 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Spring89
    Handing in notice before exchange and completion
    • 4th Apr 18, 12:01 PM
    Handing in notice before exchange and completion 4th Apr 18 at 12:01 PM
    Hi everyone,

My partner and I are first time buyers and got our mortgage approved 2 weeks ago. I am a teacher and had initially planned to hand in my notice at work at the end of May (notice deadline to be able to leave this academic year at the end of July) and start a new job in August in family support which pays slightly less. If i miss the notice deadline i can next leave my job in December which i really don't want to have to do also as it's very long commute from the new house we are purchasing. I had thought exchange and completion would've happened by then but now I realise it may happen after my deadline. In which case I'm nervous to hand in my notice (to leave in July) at the end of May if mortgage isnt complete - how likely is it for lenders call your employer just before exchange/ completion?
    I'd still be getting paid so can provide pay slips- just aware that youre meant to notify your lender if you hand in your notice.

Thanks
Page 1
    • Supersy
    • By Supersy 4th Apr 18, 12:45 PM
    • 60 Posts
    • 16 Thanks
    Supersy
    • 4th Apr 18, 12:45 PM
    • 4th Apr 18, 12:45 PM
    You are breaking the terms of the mortgage offer, you need to tell them also your plans as your affordability may change and alter the offer amount.
    • Ben Woods