Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Reluctantpensioner
    • By Reluctantpensioner 29th Mar 18, 11:51 PM
    • 24Posts
    • 3Thanks
    Reluctantpensioner
    Avoiding IFA fees on DC pension transfer
    • 29th Mar 18, 11:51 PM
    Avoiding IFA fees on DC pension transfer 29th Mar 18 at 11:51 PM
    I have a significant sum deferred in a inactive pension scheme.
    I want to transfer it to my Fidelity SIPP.
    This is from a self managed pension to a self managed pension, I have been managing it for 17 years. I should not have to pay a massive fee. Free from exit fees was an integral claim of the scheme.

Here is the wording I am fighting with:
    "In line with the requirements introduced in the Pension Schemes Act 2015, I confirm that if the
    cash equivalent value of my main Plan benefits is more than £30,000.00, I have taken
    appropriate independent advice from a financial adviser registered by the Financial Conduct
    Authority before deciding to transfer my main Plan benefits*.

*Note: This does not apply if:
    The benefits to be provided under the receiving pension plan are not ‘flexible benefits’ (e.g.
    defined contribution and cash balance benefits) for the purposes of the Pension Schemes
    Act 2015 and you provide adequate confirmation that the benefits to be provided are
    “safeguarded benefits” (e.g. defined benefit or career average benefits) or
    You are transferring only the value of your ‘flexible benefits’ AVCs. "