Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • cjonesguitar
    • By cjonesguitar 14th Mar 18, 11:30 AM
    • 26Posts
    • 0Thanks
    cjonesguitar
    Coming away from letting agent
    • 14th Mar 18, 11:30 AM
    Coming away from letting agent 14th Mar 18 at 11:30 AM
    Hi, I have been renting a flat out for 4 years with good tenants that want to stay (they always pay). The mortgage is a few years away from being nearly cleared. It has gotten to the near point that the letting agent wish to put up the rent by 30, but I would rather look after the tenant (as they are good) and cut the middle man out.

In order to keep up with legislation, and as an extra insurance I was thinking of joining one of the associations? The letting agent make the argument that they also look after over 150 pieces of legislation.
Page 1
    • Smodlet
    • By Smodlet 14th Mar 18, 11:48 AM
    • 3,199 Posts
    • 6,335 Thanks
    Smodlet
    • 14th Mar 18, 11:48 AM
    • 14th Mar 18, 11:48 AM
    "150 pieces of legislation". I wonder just how familiar they are with them all. It depends how much time you have, of course but there is stellar advice on here for both LLs and tenants, courtesy of the incomparable G_M. There are several other LLs on here who are also very helpful, mossfarr and theartfullodger among them.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showpost.php?p=67759913&postcount=4

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showpost.php?p=67759934&postcount=8