Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • kiely27
    • By kiely27 13th Mar 18, 10:38 AM
    • 66Posts
    • 35Thanks
    kiely27
    Any guidance before I make an offer?
    • 13th Mar 18, 10:38 AM
    Any guidance before I make an offer? 13th Mar 18 at 10:38 AM
    I posted this in diy but there doesn't seem to be any traffic there, plus I certainly will not be diy-ing it!

Morning All,

I'm after a bit of advice. We are about to offer on an Edwardian semi that needs some work doing. Unfortunately for us, we are complete newbies to period refurbishment so have no idea on what to budget for most things. I will list what needs doing, then if anyone could advise (with approx cost to have a professional do) I would be really grateful! I realise without knowing the spec it will be a ballpark figure but it would be good to have some idea!X

Edwardian semi, 4 double bedrooms, 3 reception rooms 2 bathrooms.

Job 1
    Refurbish sash windows, to include draft proofing. 14 Windows (approx 2mx3m) and one 3 part bay

Job 2
    2 bathroom refurbishment- tiles, new bath x1, showers x2 including enclosures, sinks x2, toilet x2.!

Job 3
    Intall driveway - lower drain by appox 2m, remove soil to street level appox 2m, install block paving driveway for 2 vehicle in length.

Job 4
    Rewire whole house

Job 5!
    Paint solid oak kitchen units, approx 20 units.!

Job 6!
    Skim and repaint each room - approx 4mx4m in size x 6 rooms all with high ceilings!

Job 7!
    Skim and repaint hall stairs amd landing again high ceilings.
Page 1
    • Beardmidget