Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • IcantSeeClearly
    • By IcantSeeClearly 11th Mar 18, 1:00 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 0Thanks
    IcantSeeClearly
    Forced to pay for company loss?
    • 11th Mar 18, 1:00 AM
    Forced to pay for company loss? 11th Mar 18 at 1:00 AM
    Hello all!

Long time lurker, first time poster

So, I have very little knowledge on worker rights and I have embarked on a search to help improve my knowledge in this area, so hopefully this'll be a good start!

I have received an email last week about employees making calls to clients from personal mobiles, from what I understand the phones that are used at our workplace are VOIP based, a lot of the time this causes issues when trying to speak to clients so people make use of means by dialing from their personal mobile, however these are call recording lines. Now here is the thing. the email also states that if the company was to go to through litigation with a client, recorded calls will be there for evidence to aid them during the course of the legal action.

I can 100% agree to this and I have absolutely no issues with this, it's this next part that gets me.

It's mentioned that if they cannot retrieve this information they will ask the staff member that was dealing with the client and making the calls to attend court to provide evidence 'as an individual' even if we are no longer working from the company?

Is that right? can we be liable and be forced to attend court? even if no longer working for the company?