Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • WallFlower
    • By WallFlower 9th Mar 18, 1:02 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    WallFlower
    Unexpected County Court Claim
    • 9th Mar 18, 1:02 PM
    Unexpected County Court Claim 9th Mar 18 at 1:02 PM
    Hi,

I'm a complete novice at all of this...

I've had a quick read through the existing forums so have a rough idea of what to do but not sure if it is worth appealing against this / if there is anything that can be done in this instance.

County Court claim has been issued and no appeals have been sent.

My questions are:
    1: If the parking period was overstayed is there any point in appealing?
    2: And, is it too late to appeal? The fine is for a few hundred pounds which isn't ideal but the driver doesn't want to risk a CCJ against the keeper.

The driver of the car that received the parking ticket wasn't aware that a ticket had been issued several months ago (last year) - it was a camera, nothing on the windscreen.

The registered keeper has now received a County Court claim against the ticket. This came as a surprise as the keeper wasn't aware of any tickets registered against the car, and doesn't remember receiving anything in the post.

The claim states the date and time of the contravention but doesn't prove that the parking period was overstayed.

Trying to keep this post as anonymous as possible but happy to provide further information if helpful.

Thank you so much in advance.
Page 1
    • bargepole
    • By bargepole 9th Mar 18, 1:18 PM
    • 2,271 Posts
    • 6,597 Thanks
    bargepole