Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • s_ridley84
    • By s_ridley84 7th Mar 18, 10:58 AM
    • 3Posts
    • 1Thanks
    s_ridley84
    Cash ISA suggestions?
    • 7th Mar 18, 10:58 AM
    Cash ISA suggestions? 7th Mar 18 at 10:58 AM
    Hello fellow forum members,

I hope I am following protocol when asking for this advice (I'm a newbie - be gentle)
    The information out there is quite overwhelming, but I wonder if anyone would be kind enough to give an opinion on what I should do with some money I have saved. Unfortunately, giving it to you is not an option (nice try!) - I'm thinking of a fixed 1/2 year cash ISA, and my main thought is when to open that account. Here's the gist:

- I'll have 3600 in April
    - 6000 in May
    These are savings from regular savings accounts and not ISAs (so not concerned with an ISA transfer).

Would it be advisable to open a cash ISA before end of April 2018 (looking at one that has a nominal opening balance requirement), with the ability to make subsequent deposits of the above amounts? OR shall I just wait until the combined funds are available (around May/June) and then open a cash ISA account with that total amount?

Thank you in advance for any advice/guidance offered
    Sian
Page 1
    • MallyGirl
    • By MallyGirl 7th Mar 18, 11:06 AM
    • 2,685 Posts
    • 7,687 Thanks
    MallyGirl
    • 7th Mar 18, 11:06 AM
    • 7th Mar 18, 11:06 AM
    why do you want a cash ISA - the rates are pretty dire?
    • Riff Raff
    • By Riff Raff 7th Mar 18, 11:09 AM