Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • arciere
    • By arciere 6th Mar 18, 10:02 AM
    • 19Posts
    • 0Thanks
    arciere
    Washing machine in bathroom
    • 6th Mar 18, 10:02 AM
    Washing machine in bathroom 6th Mar 18 at 10:02 AM
    First of all, excuse my lack of knowledge in the field, I work in IT so I am not 100% familiar with the electricity/regulations/safety aspects.

Basically, we finally got the keys for our first home, it's a small flat but the previous owners had managed to find the room to keep the washing machine in the bathroom.
    The kitchen is also fairly small, but we are purchasing a dishwasher too, so there will be no space left for any washing machine there.
    Now, taking a look at the electrical side of things, the bathroom has 2 electrical sockets next to the bathtub (so I guess this is 'Zone 2'), which I know is a no-no.

I spoke to an electrician, my plan is to remove both sockets, hard-wire the washing machine (IPX4) so no sockets, and replace the fuse box with a RCD one (apparently the one I have now is not RCD). Also, I would like to put a switch for the washing machine outside the bathroom, so that it is only switched on when nobody is taking a shower.

Would this be fairly acceptable?
Page 1
    • Heedtheadvice
    • By Heedtheadvice 6th Mar 18, 11:16 AM
    • 836 Posts
    • 390 Thanks
    Heedtheadvice
    • 6th Mar 18, 11:16 AM
    • 6th Mar 18, 11:16 AM