Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • blondie_rh
    • By blondie_rh 13th Feb 18, 1:10 PM
    • 5Posts
    • 3Thanks
    blondie_rh
    I want to pay off my Vanquis card
    • 13th Feb 18, 1:10 PM
    I want to pay off my Vanquis card 13th Feb 18 at 1:10 PM
    Hi all,

Little bit of background, I currently have 4 credit cards in default (totalling about 5k) that I've been paying back via debt collection agencies for 2/3 years. I only pay back 20 to each card per month which is all I've been able to afford realistically... so they've been going down incredibly slowly.

I also stupidly got accepted for a Vanquis credit card in Aug 2016 and since then I've completely abused it, I won't lie, and I've racked it up to 2k. I have started to make larger payments per month but I'm not getting anywhere as the interest is about 34%. I simply cannot keep paying and going nowhere!

I want to pay off all my debts within a year so I can be in a position to rebuild my credit, so I can apply for a mortgage in 1-2 years.

I don't want to do any partial settlements as this will affect my credit, especially when applying for a mortgage.

Does anyone have any advice? Do Vanquis offer a plan where maybe I can close the account and just pay back the balance of what it is without any more interest being added? Is there some form of bad credit balance transfer at 0%?! I feel completely trapped and of course broke.

Please help!