Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • JadeLouise
    • By JadeLouise 9th Feb 18, 9:29 PM
    • 10Posts
    • 6Thanks
    JadeLouise
    First time buyer needs advice!
    • 9th Feb 18, 9:29 PM
    First time buyer needs advice! 9th Feb 18 at 9:29 PM
    Hello !

Total newbie over here. A little into - I am 21 and my partner is 23 and we live with his parents and have a 1.5 year old son. We are currently in the process of saving money with the end goal of getting a mortgage to buy our own house. We aim to have saved enough money for a 10% deposit by this time next year.

I am just SO confused about how mortgages work, how do you find a house, how do you apply, where do you go ?! Who do you speak to, how do you make sure you get a good deal. I have so many questions. I have downloaded and read the first time buyer guide but it was very detailed. I could really do with a step by step overview.

I have checked my credit score in 2 different places and that confused me even more. I know we need the money first but im so worried well have that then miss out on some vital parts. I assume there is more to a mortgage than a deposit.

Any help for a clueless person who doesnt know anyone that owns a house would be great.
Page 1
    • enjoyyourshoes
    • By enjoyyourshoes 9th Feb 18, 9:41 PM
    • 1,061 Posts
    • 1,302 Thanks
    enjoyyourshoes
    • 9th Feb 18, 9:41 PM
    • 9th Feb 18, 9:41 PM
    Credit score- get yourself on electoral register and have bank account you keep in the black

Basic info for mortgage:-