Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • funnymonkey
    • By funnymonkey 9th Feb 18, 7:04 PM
    • 109Posts
    • 15Thanks
    funnymonkey
    Funds subject to exchange rate
    • 9th Feb 18, 7:04 PM
    Funds subject to exchange rate 9th Feb 18 at 7:04 PM
    I have been looking into various Funds, about 10 that will between them give me global diversity.
    Do you think this is a good idea as I'm a newbie?
    Also I know that shares are subject to exchange rates but are Funds in which case it would be wise to invest in UK shares?
    Thank you very much
Page 1
    • bowlhead99
    • By bowlhead99 9th Feb 18, 7:27 PM
    • 7,974 Posts
    • 14,508 Thanks
    bowlhead99
    • 9th Feb 18, 7:27 PM
    • 9th Feb 18, 7:27 PM
    I have been looking into various Funds, about 10 that will between them give me global diversity.
    Originally posted by funnymonkey
    No, I think you should buy one or two funds which invest in a diversified set of asset types (company shares, company and government bonds, maybe some commercial property) all over the world, and let the professional asset managers determine the detailed allocation.

Learning from one's own mistakes is jolly good fun but you do not need to try to make your life more complicated and make a bunch of mistakes to learn from, when you could instead just buy one fund that matches your preferences for investment risk/volatility, or rough asset allocation preferences, and just leave it to do its thing.