Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • The Bookman
    • By The Bookman 8th Feb 18, 8:45 AM
    • 49Posts
    • 31Thanks
    The Bookman
    Do I need a SkyQ box/subscription?
    • 8th Feb 18, 8:45 AM
    Do I need a SkyQ box/subscription? 8th Feb 18 at 8:45 AM
    My apologies, but I'm losing the will to live trying to find an intelligible answer from someone who isn't trying to sell me something.
    1. I have a 4K/UHD TV.
    2. I have a Sky+HD subscription with everything except Sky Sports.
    3. Before I got the 4K TV, some programs I watch e.g. Blacklist said at the start "Also available in UHD". Now they don't. Is this because I am now watching in 4K/UHD?
    4. If I'm not watching in 4K/UHD - why is that?
    5. I feel it looks a lot better than it used to, but if I'm not watching it in 4K/UHD, then presumably it's just because I have a better TV?

And so to the point of the title; do I have to upgrade my existing package to SkyQ in order to watch any or all 4K/UHD content output by Sky on my 4K/UHD TV?

All replies will be appreciated. I don't need to hear about Amazon & Netflix - I know what they do and offer, I'm only interested in Sky content. Feel free to explain it to me like I'm a 5 year old.
    If in doubt - do something. (With fond memories of Harry Chapin)
Page 1
    • Browntoa
    • By Browntoa 8th Feb 18, 8:51 AM
    • 32,862 Posts
    • 38,450 Thanks
    Browntoa
    • 8th Feb 18, 8:51 AM
    • 8th Feb 18, 8:51 AM
    You need sky Q for UHD