Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • amiga1
    • By amiga1 7th Feb 18, 6:59 AM
    • 33Posts
    • 13Thanks
    amiga1
    Can they force me to do this?
    • 7th Feb 18, 6:59 AM
    Can they force me to do this? 7th Feb 18 at 6:59 AM
    I have a contract which states that I may be required to do overtime from time to time for which I will be paid time and a half. Last year the company introduced an online driving course which all drivers are required to take (I'm a delivery driver). However, they're saying that the course has to be taken in my own time but overtime will not be paid. Anyone who fails to complete the course faces being disaplined. The question is, can they force me to take the course in my own time for no pay and can they disipline me if I refuse?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
Page 1
    • marlot
    • By marlot 7th Feb 18, 7:44 AM
    • 3,369 Posts
    • 2,497 Thanks
    marlot
    • 7th Feb 18, 7:44 AM
    • 7th Feb 18, 7:44 AM
    I have to do an online driving course for work. It takes about 20 mins.

I'm sure you're right about wanting the time to be paid, but is it something you really want to make such a big issue over? It sounds like you're upset about some other aspect of the work and this is just bringing it to a head?

I take a fairly 'give and take' attitude with my team. If there isn't a huge amount of work on (eg. as happened on Christmas Eve) I let them go early [paid], and similarly if they need to do half an hour or so outside work time they just do it.