Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Sanitas Lex
    • By Sanitas Lex 5th Feb 18, 7:33 PM
    • 6Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Sanitas Lex
    NHS pension
    • 5th Feb 18, 7:33 PM
    NHS pension 5th Feb 18 at 7:33 PM
    Hi guys

So looking for some wisdom!
    I'm in my second year working for the NHS. At the end of my second year I have the option to take out my pension as a lump sum. I'm thinking of taking it out and putting it in a private pension (I want to emigrate in a few years time; currently need to work for NHS for 54 years to get full pension [each year you work you get 1/54th of the pension total]). However NHS pension has better protections than private pensions.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance!
Page 1
    • andy001
    • By andy001 5th Feb 18, 7:49 PM
    • 38 Posts
    • 17 Thanks
    andy001
    • 5th Feb 18, 7:49 PM
    • 5th Feb 18, 7:49 PM
    if you're in pension less than 2 years then, You are able to take out money (minus tax relief). If you cross 2years then unable to take out and the money will be in the pot which you may be able to access when you are SPA or sooner (WITH PENALTIES).
    Your statement re better protection is spot on! None of private pensions would be able to match NHS pension.
    Think hard and take a decision especially if you're likely to return to NHS later after your emigration journey!
    • kidmugsy
    • By kidmugsy 5th Feb 18, 7:55 PM
    • 10,377 Posts
    • 7,067 Thanks
    kidmugsy
    • 5th Feb 18, 7:55 PM
    • 5th Feb 18, 7:55 PM