Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • KeepOnKnitting
    • By KeepOnKnitting 6th Jan 18, 11:18 AM
    • 162Posts
    • 233Thanks
    KeepOnKnitting
    I know you all love an SOA
    • 6th Jan 18, 11:18 AM
    I know you all love an SOA 6th Jan 18 at 11:18 AM
    I am trying to save up an emergency fund/house deposit/graduate without huge piles of debt. I feel like my expenses are pretty reasonable, but I'd love to know what I have missed or could do better on. I am a student who spends a lot of time on placement, and my costs seem to skyrocket in these times, with food and treating myself. I'd love to hear what you all think. I pulled all these from YNAB, so they are accurate rather than aspirational.

Statement of Affairs and Personal Balance Sheet

Household Information

Number of adults in household........... 1
    Number of children in household......... 0
    Number of cars owned.................... 1

Monthly Income Details

Student bursary................ 457.58
    Average earnings....... 642.68 (only had this job 5 months, and it is bank work so my income varies from 300-900)
    Student loan................................ 193.67 (paid termly, averaged over 12 months)
    Lodger............................ 300
    Total monthly income.................... 1593.93

Monthly Expense Details

Mortgage................................ 0
    Secured/HP loan repayments.............. 0
    Rent.................................... 400
    Management charge (leasehold property).. 0