Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Money_Or_Cars
    • By Money_Or_Cars 4th Jan 18, 12:07 PM
    • 8Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Money_Or_Cars
    How much should I be saving?
    • 4th Jan 18, 12:07 PM
    How much should I be saving? 4th Jan 18 at 12:07 PM
    I'm new to this and learning how to use the site, so please take it easy.....

I am trying to get the right balance between saving and enjoying myself. I love cars and have always had an outgoing for cars ever since I started working and earning.

I currently have a really nice car, but I have been tempted to go for a brand new one on PCP. I totally understand what PCP entails in terms of how much it will cost and not actually owning the car at the end.

I am able to save 500 per month, even if I go for the PCP deal - so I am not worried about what I can afford. What worries me is how much could this affect me when I want to apply for a mortgage? I am 23 and currently living at home and trying to save enough for a deposit for a house/mortgage.

Any advice/info would be much appreciated, thanks.
Page 1
    • jimjames
    • By jimjames 4th Jan 18, 1:44 PM
    • 12,653 Posts
    • 11,322 Thanks
    jimjames
    • 4th Jan 18, 1:44 PM
    • 4th Jan 18, 1:44 PM
    I'd recommend reading the Motoring forum here, in particular the posts about people who are having problems with PCP when their circumstances change. Bear in mind that you'll be paying pretty much all depreciation from your monthly payments.